Available for the following HR Classic plans: Platinum
Available for the following user access levels: Admin
Important
⚠️Work Sites & Positions Rostering: This version of rostering uses work sites and employee positions instead of cost centres. It is currently available to customers who joined Employment Hero recently. Existing customers will be migrated to Employment Hero over the coming months.
Work site-based Permission Settings provides precise permission control for admins over rostering management, timesheet management, and time reporting based on specific work sites. This feature reduces over-permissioning by allowing administrators to grant targeted access instead of broad organisational permissions, leading to improved security, better user experience, and increased adoption of Employment Hero rostering, timesheets, and time reports.
When you configure work site-based permissions, users will only see and manage employees assigned to work sites they have permission to access. This creates a cleaner interface and more focused workflow for your team.
Alternatively, admins can now grant line managers access to manage schedules specifically for their direct reports using the Reporting Employees permission group, without requiring broad organisational or work site-based permissions.
Configure rostering management permissions
- Log in to Employment Hero.
- On the left-hand side menu, click Settings.
- In the Security and Access Control section, click on Permissions.
- Click on the Add Permission button or select an existing permission group (such as Reporting Employees).
- Click on Skip and configure on my own.
Enter the name of this group.
- Add a description for the group.
- Enter the group members for this group. You can choose between All Employees, All Managers, or Select by individual employees and/or group.
- In the next screen, Select employee related permissions, define which employees this security group can access. Select from the following:
- All employees
- Reporting Employees
- Groups
- Locations
- Worksites
- No employees
- Under Exclusions, you can exclude specific employees, groups, locations, or worksites from being accessed. Exclusions take priority over the employee access scope. For example, if you select "All employees", but you exclude the Group "ELT", then employees assigned to this permission group can access data of All employees except anyone in ELT.Select between the following exclusions:
- Exclude specific employees
- Exclude specific groups
- Exclude specific locations
- Exclude specific worksites
- Click on the Next button.
- Under the Contractors subheading, select which contractors will gain access (if applicable). Select from the following:
- All contractors
- Reporting contractors
- No contractors
- Under Modules, here you will select which modules your contractors have access to. Select between View, Modify, Delete, Use for your contractor permissions.
Click on the Next button.
- In the Volunteer permissions section, select which volunteers at your organisation will gain access (if applicable). Select from the following:
- All volunteers
- Reporting volunteers
- No volunteers
- Select between View, Modify, Delete, Use for your volunteer permissions.
- In the General Permissions section, click on Use for which modules the employees will have access to in your chosen work site or scoped area.
- Click on the Next button.
- In the Contractor Permissions section, select which modules the contractors will have access to in your chosen location (if applicable).
- Click on the Next button.
- In the General Permissions section, select which modules the new group will have access to in your chosen location.
- Click on the Next button.
- In the Review Security Group section, review the security groups settings. Once you are satisfied, click on the Next button.
- Click on Save.