Managing your organisations cost centres | HR Web Platform

Overview

As an organisation, you can have multiple locations based in different suburbs or states. In these cases, your business would have different employees employed in each area, so having a location register, with a record of each address and the site hierarchy, will allow you to maintain an accurate record of who works where within your organisation.

If you did not connect Employment Hero to a KeyPay based payroll platform, this feature allows you to create a list of cost centres you can allocate against your employees. This feature also allows you to disable a cost centre if it is no longer in use, edit the data if it changes and delete a record if it is no longer required.

If you connect Employment Hero to a KeyPay based payroll platform, this feature allows you to synchronise the locations created on your payroll platform and make them selectable within your Employment Hero platform. The platform will then have the latest payroll configuration data and the employee records on Employment Hero will have the correct information.

Important

Employment Hero Payroll and KeyPay refer to cost centres as locations; however, locations in the Employment Hero HR platform refer to an employee's physical location.

Getting started

  Select the payroll platform you integrated with for the relevant instructions. If you do not have an integrated payroll product, click the HR Only tab.

HR Only

Availability

HR Plan:   Premium   Platinum
  User Access:   Employee         Manager         Admin      

  This is the default access level per user and whether they have  view,  edit and  delete access, excluding any changes made via our Custom Security feature.

Create a cost centre
  1. Click the   Settings menu.
  2. Click the Cost Centres submenu.
  3. Click the Add Cost Centre button.
    Cost__SG__1.jpg
  4. Complete the following fields:
    • Name.
    • Parent cost centre.
  5. Click the Save button.
    Cost__SG__2.jpg

Maintain

  Select the payroll platform you integrated with for the relevant instructions. If you do not have an integrated payroll product, click the HR Only tab.

HR Only EH Payroll KeyPay

Availability

HR Plan:   Premium   Platinum
  User Access:   Employee         Manager         Admin      

  This is the default access level per user and whether they have  view,  edit and  delete access, excluding any changes made via our Custom Security feature.

Edit a cost centre
  1. Click the   Settings menu.
  2. Click the Cost Centres submenu.
  3. Click the Actions button.
  4. Click the Edit button.
    Cost__SG__3.jpg
  5. Make the required changes and click the Save button.
    Cost__SG__4.jpg
Disable a cost centre

Important

The feature is only available when there are active employees assigned to a cost centre.

  1. Click the   Settings menu.
  2. Click the Cost Centres submenu.
  3. Click the Actions button.
  4. Click the Disable button. 
    Cost__SG__5.jpg
Enable a cost centre

Important

The feature is only available when a cost centre shows an inactive status.

  1. Click the   Settings menu.
  2. Click the Cost Centres submenu.
  3. Click the Actions button.
  4. Click the Enable button.
    Cost__SG__6.jpg
Delete a cost centre

Important

The feature is only available when there are no active employees assigned to the cost centre.

  1. Click the   Settings menu.
  2. Click the Cost Centres submenu.
  3. Click the Actions button.
  4. Click the Delete button.
    Cost__SG__7.jpg
  5. Click the Delete button.
    Cost__SG__8.jpg

Further information

  Select the payroll platform you integrated with for the relevant instructions.

EH Payroll KeyPay

Availability

HR Plan:   Premium   Platinum
Payroll Plan:   Standard   Premium
  User Access:   Employee         Manager         Admin      

  This is the default access level per user and whether they have  view,  edit and  delete access, excluding any changes made via our Custom Security feature.

Ongoing synchronisation with the payroll platform

Once you have connected your Payroll and HR platforms, the HR platform becomes the source of truth for your company settings, payroll settings, and employee file data. To read further details on how to manage locations on the payroll platform, refer to the following article.

When you first connect the two platforms, the HR platform will pull the data from the payroll platform into the HR platform, such as your location data. Any additional changes to locations after this initial integration, requires you to update your location data manually.

Once you have imported any recent changes from the payroll platform, you can make amendments to an employee's file, such as their employment details. To read further details on how to update an employee's employment details, refer to the following article.

Why does the leave category show as disabled?

The HR platform will show a location as disabled, if the data no longer exists on your payroll platform. You can not delete disabled locations if you have used them previously within the HR platform. The reason for this is platform data accountability and making sure that when you use the Audit Trail feature, we display the correct logs of what changes occurred within your platform.

Author recommended

So you have now updated your organisations locations and you are now wondering what next can I do. There are two recommendations I would make on this front and they are:

  • HR platform: Update pay schedules This feature is where you can sync the latest pay schedule data from your payroll platform over to your Employment Hero platform.
  • HR platform: Leave categories This feature is where you can sync the latest leave category data from your payroll platform over to your Employment Hero platform.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.