How do I manage my organisation's employee review period settings via the HR Platform

The last stage in building a performance review within the HR platform is the creation and assigning of a review period. You will take the template you created previously, add in details such as the start and end date, and then choose what employees need assigning this finished performance review.

The Review Period feature allows you to add or remove users as needed and send reminders out to complete the assigned work. You can also view an employee and their manager's performance review progress, or you can download a report outlining the progress made by all your employees and their managers. Before being able to create a review period, the following needs creating:

HR Best Practise

You can choose when you will go live with the performance reviews to your employees and their respective managers. In extensive research, they found that annual performance reviews did not necessarily drive employee performance and/or engagement. Whereas a bi-annual or quarterly performance review gives an opportunity for more regular feedback.

Availability

HR Plan:   Premium   Platinum
  User Access:   Employee         Manager         Admin      

  We base the default access level on a per user basis and whether they have  view,  edit and  delete access and excluding any changes made via our Custom Security feature.

Getting started

Create a review period
  1. Click the  Setting menu.
  2. Under General Settings, click the Review Settings submenu.
  3. Click the Review Periods tab.
  4. Click the Add New Review Period button.
    screenshot of the review settings page, highlighting the add new review period button
  5. Complete the following fields:
    • Title.
    • Start date.
    • End date for employees.
    • Lock out date for employees.
    • End date for managers.
    • Lock out date for managers.
    • Reminders begin.
    • Publish draft response on lockout date.
    • Templates.
    • Overall score.
    • Weighted questions.
    • Review description.
    • Uploaded files.
    screenshot of the top half of the new review period details page
  6. In the Who Will Complete This Review section, you can:
    • Add all employees.
    • Exclude pending employees.
    • Add by employee.
    • Add an entire team.
  7. Click the Save button.
    screenshot of the new review period details page, highlighting the save button

Data management

Send a reminder in bulk
  1. Click the  Setting menu.
  2. Under General Settings, click the Review Settings submenu.
  3. Click the Review Periods tab.
  4. Click the review period you need to send reminders for.
    screenshot of the review settings page, highlighting a review period
  5. Click the Remind All button.
    screenshot of the assigned employees section, highlighting the remind all button
View a review period
  1. Click the  Setting menu.
  2. Under General Settings, click the Review Settings submenu.
  3. Click the Review Periods tab.
  4. Click the review period you need to view.
    screenshot of the review settings page, highlighting a review period

    Helpful Hint

    You can now see the details of the review period.

    screenshot of the review period details screen
Print a review period
  1. Click the  Setting menu.
  2. Under General Settings, click the Review Settings submenu.
  3. Click the Review Periods tab.
  4. Click the review period you need to print.
    screenshot of the review settings page, highlighting a review period
  5. Click the Print button.
    screenshot of the review period details page, highlighting the print button

Editing data

Assign a review period to additional users
  1. Click the  Setting menu.
  2. Under General Settings, click the Review Settings submenu.
  3. Click the Review Periods tab.
  4. Click the review period that needs to be assigned to additional users.
    screenshot of the review settings page, highlighting a review period
  5. In the Who Will Complete This Review section, you can:
    • Add by employee.
    • Add an entire team.
    screenshot of the who will complete this review section, highlighting the employee slash team field

    Helpful Hint

    The employee or team you entered will now appear under Assigned Employees.

    screenshot of the assigned employees section, showing the newly added employee
Update a review period
  1. Click the  Setting menu.
  2. Under General Settings, click the Review Settings submenu.
  3. Click the Review Periods tab.
  4. Click the review period you need to update.
    screenshot of the review settings page, highlighting a review period
  5. Click the Update button.
    screenshot of the review period details page, highlighting the update button
  6. Make the required changes.
  7. Click the Save button.
    screenshot of the edit review period details popup, highlighting the save button
Unarchive a review period

Important

You can only unarchive archived review periods.

  1. Click the  Setting menu.
  2. Under General Settings, click the Review Settings submenu.
  3. Click the Review Category button.
  4. Click the Show Archived Review Period checkbox.
    screenshot of the review settings page, highlighting the show archived review periods checkbox
  5. Click the Actions dropdown button for the review period you need to unarchive.
  6. Click Unarchive.
    screenshot of the review settings page, highlighting the actions dropdown and unarchive buttons
  7. Click the Unarchive button.
    screenshot of the confirmation popup, highlighting the unarchive button

Removing data

Remove an employee from a review period
  1. Click the  Setting menu.
  2. Under General Settings, click the Review Settings submenu.
  3. Click the Review Periods tab.
  4. Click the review period you need.
    screenshot of the review settings page, highlighting a review period
  5. Scroll down to the Assigned Employees section.
  6. Click the Actions dropdown button for the employee you want to remove.
  7. Click Delete.
    screenshot of the assigned employees section, highlighting the actions dropdown and delete buttons
  8. Click the Delete button.
    screenshot of the delete member review popup, highlighting the delete button
Archive a review period
  1. Click the  Setting menu.
  2. Under General Settings, click the Review Settings submenu.
  3. Click the Review Category button.
  4. Click the Actions dropdown button for the review period you need to archive.
  5. Click Archive.
    screenshot of the review settings page, highlighting the actions dropdown and archive buttons
  6. Click the Archive button.
    screenshot of the confirmation popup, highlighting the archive button
Delete a review period
  1. Click the  Setting menu.
  2. Under General Settings, click the Review Settings submenu.
  3. Click the Review Periods tab.
  4. Click the Actions dropdown button for the review period you want to delete.
  5. Click Delete.
    screenshot of the review settings page, highlighting the actions dropdown and delete buttons
  6. Click the Delete button.
    screenshot of the confirmation popup, highlighting the delete button

Further information

Review manager changed during the review period

If an employee's manager changes during the review period, the HR platform will clear the previous manager's responses. It will then set the new manager as the owner of the review.

Review manager changed after the lock-out period

If an employee's manager changes after the lock-out period, the previous manager will remain assigned to the review and their responses will remain recorded.

Important

Extending the lock-out date will not allow you to change the manager assigned to the review. To change the manager of a review, make sure you set the end date of the review period to a future date after changing the employee's primary manager.

Explore related content

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 3 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.