How do I off-board and/or terminate an employee via the HR platform

When an agreement between an employee and your organisation has expired, the employee off-boarding feature provides a convenient platform for you to terminate them. You can choose the termination type, date, and the reason for the termination. The employee removal feature also allows you to quickly and easily delete the employee and their information from your HR platform.

Warning

Deleting an employee from your platform will remove their data, which means there is no record kept for auditing purposes. We recommend this step only if there is a duplicate employee file and/or their details show as pending, meaning the employee has not yet signed into the HR platform.

If your organisation has an active connection to the learning platform, then terminating an employee from the HR platform will also deactivate the employee's learning account. However, if you delete an employee record on the HR platform, it will not delete that employee from your learning platform.

Also, you can only set a payroll cut-off date if you are using our Employment Hero Payroll product. Plus, the termination date must be future-dated for the termination time, date, and payroll cut-off options to appear on your HR platform.

Availability

HR Plan:   Premium   Platinum
  User Access:   Employee         Manager         Admin      

We base the default access level on a per user basis and whether they have  view,  edit and  delete access and excluding any changes made via our Custom Security feature. 

  Interactive learning

Click here for an interactive demo
Watch a video

Daily activities

Offboard and terminate an employee

Important

Before off-boarding an employee, make sure that you have created an off-boarding checklist. This generates a list of tasks that need completing before their termination date. To read further details on how to create an off-boarding checklist, refer to the following article.

  1. Click the   People menu.
  2. Click the Employees List submenu.
  3. Click the Action   button next to the employee that needs off-boarding.
  4. Click the   Off-Board Employee button.
    screenshot of the employees page, with a highlight on the actions dropdown and offboard employee buttons
  5. Complete the following fields:
    • Termination date.
    • Termination type.
    • Employee access.
    • Payroll cut off date.

      Helpful Hint

      The Payroll Cut Off Date field allows you to choose a different time you like the platform to terminate the employee on your payroll platform if it is integrated with the HR platform. For example, so you can still finish the remaining leave and expense approvals or process your final pay run.

  6. Click the Terminate button.
    screenshot of the pop up where you can input offboarding details, with a highlight on the terminate button
Backfill a role with SmartMatch: Recommended talent available

Important

The Need a Backfill panel only appears right after you terminate and offboard an employee. If you want to backfill the role at a different time, you can do so via the Recruitment module.

  1. Click the Update location button.
    screenshot of the backfill panel, with a highlight on the update location button
  2. Click the search bar and choose the correct location.
  3. Click the Submit button.
    screenshot of the panel where you can update the location, with a highlight on the search bar and submit button
  4. Click the  button to add the candidate to your saved list.

    Helpful Hint

    To view their profile, click the   button. To start recruiting them, go to the Saved Candidates page in the Recruitment module.

    screenshot of the backfill panel, with a highlight on the save candidate button

Backfill a role with SmartMatch: There is no talent to recommend

Important

The Need a Backfill panel only appears right after you terminate and offboard an employee. If you want to backfill the role at a different time, you can do so via the Recruitment module.

  1. Click the Get Started button.

    Helpful Hint

    We will send a reminder to create a backfill role a week before their termination date.

    screenshot of a side panel asking you to create a backfill job, with a highlight on the get started button
  2. If you choose to create an advert, this will open the Create a Job screen, where you will need to enter the required details.
  3. If you choose not to create a backfill role advert when you are offboarding the employee, you can do this retroactively:
    • Open the Employee page.
    • Click on the Actions button.
    • Click the Create Backfill Role button.

    Helpful Hint

    If you cancel the offboarding of the employee, we will then automatically close the related backfill role you created on your HR platform.

    screenshot of the job creation screen
Cancel an employee offboarding

Important

You can only cancel an employee's offboarding if the termination date has yet to occur.

  1. Click the  People menu.
  2. Click the Employees List submenu.
  3. Click the Action  button.
  4. Click the   Cancel Offboarding button
  5. Choose whether to maintain or close the remaining employee offboarding tasks.
  6. Click the Confirm button.
    screenshot of a pop up message asking if you want to cancel offboarding

Deleting data

Remove an employee from the HR platform

Warning

Removing an employee from your platform will remove their data, which means there is no record kept for auditing purposes. If you want to remove your employees but keep their data, then refer to the Off-Boarding section of this article. An admin can not delete an employee once they have:

  • An asset assigned.
  • Onboarded an employee.
  • Submitted or approved leave.
  • Submitted or approved timesheets.
  • Signed an HR document and/or contract.
  1. Click the   People menu.
  2. Click the Employees List submenu.
  3. Click the Action   button for the employee you want to remove.
  4. Click the   Delete button.

    screenshot of the employees screen, with a highlight on the actions and delete buttons for one employee
  5. Type the employee's name in the textbox.

    Important

    The HR platform shows the employee's name in bold inside parentheses. But when you type the name to confirm that you want to delete their profile, do not include the parentheses.

  6. Click the Delete button.
    screenshot of the delete employee file pop-up, highlighting the textbox for the name and the delete buttons

Further information

What do the termination types mean?
Termination code. Description. Explanation.
V.

Voluntary cessation.

An employee resignation, retirement, domestic or pressing necessity, or abandonment of employment.

I.

Ill health.

An employee resignation due to a medical condition that prevents the continuation of employment, such as for illness, ill-health, medical unfitness, or total permanent disability.

D.

Deceased.

The death of an employee.

R.

Redundancy.

An employer initiated termination of employement due to ‌genuine redundancy or approved early retirement scheme.

F.

Dismissal.

An employer initiated termination of employment due to dismissal, inability to perform the required work, misconduct, or inefficiency.

C.

Contract cessation.

The natural conclusion of a limited employment relationship due to the contract/engagement duration or task completion, seasonal work completion or to cease causal that are no longer required.

T.

Transfer.

The administrative arrangements performed to transfer an employee across payroll systems, move them temporarily to another employer (machinery of government for public servants); transfer of business; move them to outsourcing arrangements or other such technical activities.

Why can I not see the employee access and payroll cut-off date?
An employee's access and cut-off dates will only appear if they are occurring on a future date. These dates will not appear if the cut-off dates occurred in the past or on the current date.

Explore related content

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 7 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.