Available for the following plans: Lite, Plus, Unlimited HR, Essentials, Engage, Elite, Unlimited HR+Payroll
Available for the following HR plans: Free, Standard, Premium, Platinum
Available for the following User Access levels: Admin
The Offboarding Checklist feature enables admins to create task groups that activate upon an employee's offboarding. Think of it as a virtual to-do list that helps you and your team keep track of all important tasks when employees leave. By automating reminders and providing complete visibility over completed and outstanding tasks, the checklist streamlines the offboarding process and reduces stress.
You can specify which employees or teams will receive these tasks. You can also edit, clone, and delete individual offboarding tasks, as well as entire checklists. Offboarding tasks trigger when a termination date is entered for an employee, and should their account be reactivated, these tasks will still be available for audit purposes.
Note: Employment Hero has introduced a new settings interface with an improved look and feel. The navigation and layout may appear different from previous versions, but all functionality remains the same. If you're using the new settings interface, follow the same steps outlined in this article.
How to Prepare
- Create a comprehensive checklist of all the tasks that need to be completed when someone leaves your organisation.
- For each task, specify which team or individual is responsible for its completion.
Getting started
- Click the Settings menu.
- In the Recruitment & Onboarding section, click Checklists (or Onboarding & Offboarding Checklists).
- Click the Offboarding tab.
- Click the + Add Offboarding Checklist button.
- Complete the following fields:
- Name.
- Applies to:
- All employees.
- All contractors or Specific team.
- Click the Add Task button.
- Complete the following fields:
- Name.
- Description.
-
Do you want all administrators to receive this task?
Important
This option will only trigger a notification for admins within your organisation, not owners.
- Do you want all managers to receive this task?
- Do you want all employees to receive this task?
- Other owners (type to list specific individuals within your organisation).
- Shared task (Any one owner can complete this task on behalf of all others).
- Due date. Make sure that the offboarding due date is set at least 1 day before the employee's termination date. Otherwise, notifications may not be sent correctly because the employee will be considered already offboarded.
-
Click the Subtask button and list any additional subtasks, if necessary.
Helpful Hint
Repeat steps 6 to 8 for each task that needs assigning to the offboarding checklist.
- Click the Save button.
Data management
- Click the Settings menu.
- In the Recruitment & Onboarding section, click Checklists.
- Click the Offboarding tab.
- Click the Edit button.
- Click the Clone button.
- Change any required details and then click the Save button.
Editing data
- Click the Settings menu.
- In the Recruitment & Onboarding section, click Checklists.
- Click the Offboarding tab.
- Click the Edit button.
- Make the required changes and click the Save button.
- Click the Settings menu.
- In the Recruitment & Onboarding section, click Checklists.
- Click the Offboarding tab.
- Click the Edit button.
- Click the Edit button.
- Make the required changes and click the Save button.
Deleting data
- Click the Settings menu.
- In the Recruitment & Onboarding section, click Checklists.
- Click the Offboarding tab.
- Click the Edit button.
- Click the Delete button.
- Click the Delete button.
- Click the Settings menu.
- In the Recruitment & Onboarding section, click Checklists.
- Click the Offboarding tab.
- Click the Delete button.
- Click the Delete button.
Further information
An off-boarding task triggers once you enter a termination date for an active employee. The workflow for this process is:
- An Admin offboards the nominated employee.
- The task owner receives an email notification on the due date.
- The task owner can use the Click Here button to access their assigned task.
- The platform will take the task owner to the My Tasks feature, where they can view, action, and complete their assigned offboarding tasks.