Using blocks in the advanced template editor | HR Web Platform

Overview

Blocks are a useful feature as they allow you to group your text together and choose, say, three different versions of a salary history as being linked. By linking them together, you can then, at the HR Document issuing stage, choose which of the three versions apply to each employee.

You can use the Advanced Template Management feature to add these blocks to your organisations, HR documents and policies. You can also use this feature to edit and/or delete a block if the information needs updating. To read details on how to access the Template Management feature, please refer to this article.

Availability

HR Plan:   free   Standard   Premium   Platinum
  User Access:   Employee         Manager         Admin      

  We base the default access level on a per user basis and whether they have  view,  edit and  delete access and excluding any changes made via our Custom Security feature.

Getting started

The below premise will walk you through how to create a content block.

Create a content block
  1. Open the required advanced editor document.
  2. Click the   button.
    Block_1.jpg
  3. Complete the required fields and click the OK button.
  4. Click the Save and Preview button.
  5. Click either the Return button to exit the editor or the Edit button to make further changes.

    Helpful Hint

    When creating a block, the below window will appear. If you select the Optional tick box, this means we will include the content in the block as an optional inclusion in the document, when you go to issue the document. When issuing the document, you must select only one of the optional blocks to remain in each section.

    As such, you need to create the template so that each cohort of optional blocks is in a seperate section of the document. If you do not select this option then we will lock the text entered in the block and you become unable to edit the information when issuing the document.

    The Block Group field provides you with the opportunity to name the block. It enables you to give it a unique name if it is a stand alone block, or to give it the same name as another block to indicate that they are part of the same grouping of optional inclusions.

    The name of the block only appears when finalising a document if too many optional blocks remain included within the same section. Hence, by using the same naming convention it makes it easier to determine where the error lies within the document, so it is easily fixed by the person issuing the document.

    Block_2.jpg

Maintain

The below premise will walk you through how to edit and/or delete a content block.

Edit a content block
  1. Open the required advanced editor document.
  2. Hover over the block you need to edit and double-click the   button. 
    Block_3.jpg
  3. Make the required changes and click the Ok button.
  4. Click the Save and Preview button.
  5. Click either the Return button to exit the editor or the Edit button to make further changes.
    Block_4.jpg
Delete a content block
  1. Open the required advanced editor document.
  2. Right click on the block you wish to delete. 
  3. Click the Remove Block button.
  4. Click the Save and Preview button.
  5. Click either the Return button to exit the editor or the Edit button to make further changes.
    Block_5.jpg

Author recommended

So you have now managed your content blocks and you are now wondering, what next can I do. There are two recommendations I would make on this front and they are:

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.