Off-boarding and terminating an employee | HR Web Platform

Overview

There will be instances where an employee agreement has ended with your organisation and they will need to be off-boarded and terminated. The employee off-boarding feature allows you to terminate an employee and specify the termination type, date and the reason behind their termination. Whereas the employee removal feature allows you to delete an employee and their details from your HR platform.

Warning

Deleting an employee from your platform will remove their data, which means there is no record kept for auditing purposes. We recommend this step only if there is a duplicate employee file and/or their details show as pending, meaning the employee has not yet signed into the HR platform.

When terminating an employee, you may also need to process a termination payment within the payroll platform. If this is the case, then there is a specific process that needs following. To read more about how to terminate an employee in the correct order, refer to the following guide.

If your organisation has an active connection to the learning platform, then terminating an employee of the HR platform will also deactivate the employee's learning account. However, if you delete an employee record on the HR platform, it will not delete that employee from your learning platform.

Also, you can only set a payroll cut-off date if you are using our Employment Hero Payroll product. Plus, the termination date must be future dated for the termination time, date, and payroll cut-off options to appear on your HR platform.

Availability

HR Plan:   Premium   Platinum
  User Access:   Employee         Manager         Admin      

  We base the default access level on a per user basis and whether they have  view,  edit and  delete access and excluding any changes made via our Custom Security feature.

Getting started

The below premise will walk you through how to offboard and terminate an employee.

Offboard and terminating an employee

Important

Before off-boarding, an employee, make sure that you have created an off-boarding checklist. This generates a list of tasks that need completing before their termination date. To read further details on how to create an off-boarding checklist, refer to the following article.

  1. Click the   Personnel menu.
  2. Click the Employees submenu.
  3. Click the Action   button next to the employee that needs off-boarding.
  4. Click the   Off-Board Employee button.
    Terminate_1.jpg
  5. Complete the following fields:
    • Termination date.
    • Termination type.
      • Resignation:
        • Relocation.
        • Further education.
        • Better rewards.
        • Health.
        • Career advancement.
        • Career change.
        • Travelling.
        • Family.
        • Other
      • Abandonment.
      • Termination:
        • Serious misconduct.
        • Poor performance.
        • Redundancy.
        • Incomplete probation.
        • Work eligibility.
        • Other.
      • Retirement.
      • Other.
    • Comment.
    • Employee access:
      • Allow access until a specified date and time:
        • Give access until x date at x time.
      • Remove access immediately
      • Allow access until the termination date.
    • Payroll cut off date:
      • Same as termination date.
      • Custom date.

      Helpful Hint

      The Payroll Cut Off Date field allows you to choose a different time you like the platform to terminate the employee on your payroll platform. For example, so you can still finish the remaining leave and expense approvals or process your final pay run.

  6. Click the Terminate button.
    Terminate__UK__1.jpg
  7. If you want to create a backfill role advert for the terminated employee, click the Yes button.

    Helpful Hint

    We will send a reminder to create a backfill role a week before their termination date.

    Screenshot of where to click on yes to create a backfill role when terminating an employee
  8. If you chose to create an advert this will open the Create a role screen, where you will need to enter the required details. Screenshot of the create a role screen to create a backfill role when terminating an employee
  9. If you choose not to create a backfill role advert when you are offboarding the employee, you can do this retroactively:
    1. Open the Employee page.
    2. Click on the Actions button .
    3. Click the Create Backfill Role button.

    Helpful Hint

    If the offboarding of the employee is cancelled, we will then automatically close the related backfill role you created on your HR platform.

    Screenshot of the how to retroactively create a backfill role after you have already terminated the employee in the employment hero hr platform
Remove an employee from the HR platform

Warning

Removing an employee from your system will remove their data, which means there is no record kept for auditing purposes. If you want to remove your employees but keep their data, then refer to the Off-Boarding section of this article. An admin can not delete an employee once they have:

  • Onboarded an employee.
  • Submitted or approved leave.
  • Submitted or approved timesheets.
  • Signed an HR document and/or contract.
  1. Click the  Personnel menu.
  2. Click the Employees submenu.
  3. Click the Action  button next to the employee that needs removing.
  4. Click the  Delete button.Terminate__MY__3.jpg
  5. On the confirmation screen, type in the employee's name and click the Delete button.

    Important

    The HR platform shows the employee's name in bold within the two brackets. The employee name, however, does not include the two outer brackets. To delete an employee, you need to type in the employee name, including any dates, times, and/or punctuation marks displayed in the name.

    Terminate__MY__4.jpg

Maintain

The below premise will walk you through how to cancel an employee offboarding.

Cancel an employee offboarding

Important

You can only cancel an employee's offboarding if the termination date has yet to occur.

  1. Click the  Personnel menu.
  2. Click the Employees submenu.
  3. Click the Action  button.
  4. Click the   Cancel Offboarding button
    Terminate_5.jpg
  5. Choose whether to maintain or close the remaining employee offboarding tasks.
  6. Click the Confirm button.
    Terminate_6.jpg

Author recommended

So you have now offboarded an employee and you are now wondering, what next can I do. There are two recommendations I would make on this front and they are:

  • Viewing an employees assigned assets - HR Web Platform This feature is where you can check what assets the employee has assigned and see if there are any they will need to return before they leave your business.
  • My tasks - HR Web Platform This feature is where you will find any off-boarding tasks your organisation may have assigned to you and that they require you to complete as part of your organisation's off-boarding process.
Was this article helpful?

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.