How do I re-activate a terminated employee via the HR platform?

Available for the following HR plans: Free, Standard, Premium, Platinum
Available for the following user access levels: Admin    

Question

How do I re-activate a terminated employee?

Answer

You can re-activate a terminated employee from the Personnel Overview page by using the Re-activation feature. Reactivating a terminated employee will allow you to keep the employee's original login/account email. When the reactivated employee logs in again, it is important that you remind them to update any personal details which may have changed

Important

You can only use the re-activation feature if the employee's status shows as terminated.

Helpful Hint

Reactivating a terminated employee will allow you to keep the employee's original login/account email. When the reactivated employee logs in again, it is important that you remind them to update any personal details which may have changed.

In case you need to change their account email, we recommend doing that before reactivating their profile. This way, they only need to access their new email address to confirm the change.

Re-activating an employee
  1. Click the   People menu.
  2. Click the Employee List submenu.
  3. Filter by Employee Status.
  4. Choose to include Terminated employees from the drop-down menu.
  5. Click the Actions button.
  6. Click the Re-active Employee button.
    Screenshot of the HR platform showing how to reactivate an employee who is terminated.
  7. Choose from the following options:
    • No, I do not want to trigger onboarding checklists.
    • Yes, I want to trigger onboarding checklists.
  8. Click the Re-Activate button.
    Re-activate_2.jpg

Further actions

Update re-activated employee details
  1. After re-activating an employee, you will need to update their details, including their new start date, and any pay details if applicable. To do this, head to the Employee List and select the newly re-activated employee.
  2. Click the Employment details tab.
  3. Click the Edit button
    reactivate01.jpg
  4. Select the Start date and enter the date that they were re-activated.
    reactivate02.jpg
  5. You can also edit any other details here if they have changed since their last tenure.
  6. Click the Save button.
    reactivate03.jpg
  7. Head back to the employee's file and select the Edit option under the Actions drop-down.
    reactivate05.jpg
  8. Edit any details according to their re-activation date, and click the Save button.
    reactivate06.jpg
  9. Head to the Pay details tab
    reactivate07.jpg
  10. The pay details from their last tenure will be the active pay details. If the pay details need to be updated, move on to the next step. If the pay details are the same, continue to step 12.
  11. To update the employee's pay details, click the Create a New Salary button.
    reactivate08.jpg
  12. Update the employee's new pay details and click the Save button.
    reactivate09.jpg
  13. The Work hours and Pay run details will remain the same from their last employment date. To check these, head to the Work hours and Pay run details within the Pay details tab.
  14. If applicable, change these values to their new pay details.
    reactivate10.jpg

Explore related content

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 9 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.