Managing cost centres | Xero Payroll

As a business you can have multiple locations based in different suburbs or states; in these cases your organisation would have different employees employed in each location. Having a location register with a record of each address and the location hierarchy will allow you to maintain an accurate record of who works where within your organisation.

The Cost Cetnre feature allows you to create a list of cost centres that you can allocate against your employees. The feature also allows you to disable a cost centre if it is no longer in use, edit the data if it changes, and delete a record if it is no longer required.

Warning

Cost Centres do not sync over to Xero; this means your organisation's payroll admin will need to enter this information manually into your Xero platform.

Availability 

HR Plan:   Free   Standard   Premium   Platinum
  User Access:   Employee         Manager         Admin      

  We base the default access level on a per user basis and whether they have  view,  edit and  delete access and excluding any changes made via our Custom Security feature.

Getting started

Create a cost centre
  1. Click the Settings menu.
  2. Click the Cost Centres submenu.
  3. Click the Add Cost Centre button.
    Cost_Centre_1.jpg
  4. Complete the following fields:
    • Name.
    • Parent cost centre.
  5. Click the Save button.
    Cost_Centre_2.jpg

Editing data

Edit a cost centre
  1. Click the Settings menu.
  2. Click the Cost Centres submenu.
  3. Click the Actions button.
  4. Click the Edit button.
    Cost_Centre_3.jpg
  5. Make the required changes and click the Save button.
    Cost_Centre_4.jpg

Data management

Enabling a cost centre

Important

The feature is only available when a cost centre shows an inactive status.

  1. Click the Settings menu.
  2. Click the Cost Centress submenu.
  3. Click the Actions button.
  4. Click the Enable button.
    Cost_Centre_6.jpg

Deleting data

Disable a cost centre

Important

The feature is only available when there are active employees assigned to a cost centre.

  1. Click the Settings menu.
  2. Click the Cost Centres submenu.
  3. Click the Actions button.
  4. Click the Disable button. 
    Cost_Centre_5.jpg
Deleting a cost centre

Important

The feature is only available when there are no active employees assigned to the cost centre.

  1. Click the Settings menu.
  2. Click the Cost Centres submenu.
  3. Click the Actions button.
  4. Click the Delete button.
    Cost_Centre_7.jpg
  5. Click the Delete button.
    Cost_Centre_8.jpg

Author recommended

So you have now managed your cost centres and you are now wondering, what next can I do. There are two recommendations I would make on this front and they are:

  • Leave balance visibility | Xero Guide This guide walks you through how to customise your employee's leave balance visibility in your Employment Hero platform.
  • Common Xero Import Conflicts This section contains a range of error resolution articles that cover common import conflicts our clients run into when syncing their Xero data.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.